Home > Uncategorized > PSCONFIG configdb parameters

PSCONFIG configdb parameters

I don’t know if anyone else has experienced this, but the Microsoft documentation provides this as an example for the above command

Psconfig –cmd configdb –create –server servername –database databasename –user username –password userpassword –admincontentdatabase databasename

I tried running this and kept getting the following error

The -create command is invalid

This drove me made until I removed the “-” from the beginning of the create parameter and then I got the following error

The -server command is invalid

My amazing mind realized that a pattern was emerging and I went ahead and removed all the dashes from the parameters to end up with the following command.

Psconfig –cmd configdb create server servername database databasename user username password userpassword admincontentdatabase databasename

Hey Presto my “SharePoint Products and Technologies Configuration Wizard” began chugging away

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. 20 March 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Thank you for that great tip, I was getting frustrated trying to figure it out until i read your article.

  2. Matt
    7 May 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks for saving me a good deal of frustration. You’re my hero for the day.

  3. Chris
    5 August 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Wow, MS documentation WRONG??? AGAIN?? This was driving me insane, thank you!

  4. Tricia Wilcox Almas
    24 February 2011 at 11:51 pm

    Thank you! The side of my head was getting flat!

  5. Prateek
    16 June 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I was getting frustrated for the same thing but found out something else…
    i had a space between the “-” and the passphrase parameter in the entire command. Once i removed the space the command ran successfully….

    So double check for any spaces after the “-” and the parameter…
    hope this helps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

